2023: Nigerian senate confirms Buhari’s 19 RECs for INEC

2023: Nigerian senate confirms Buhari’s 19 RECs for INEC

The Nigerian Senate has confirmed all the 19 nominees appointed by President Buhari as Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) for the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) and the 2023 election.

Akewusolaf Blog reports that the development was a follow-up to the consideration of the Committee on INEC, led by Senator Kabiru Gaya.

Recall that last week, the Committee screened the appointees, which included five for reappointment and 14 for fresh appointments.

READ ALSO: Incessant strike destroying university education in Nigeria, Prof. Oloyede

The renewal nominees confirmed on Wednesday include Agboke Olaleke (Ogun); Ibrahim Abdullahi (Adamawa); Umar Ibrahim (Taraba); Obo Effanga (Cross River); and Professor Samuel Egwu (Kogi).

Those confirmed for fresh appointment are Onyeka Ugochi (Imo); Muhammad Bashir (Sokoto); Ayobami Salami, a professor, (Oyo); Zango Abdu (Katsina); Queen Agwu (Ebonyi); and Agundu Tersoo (Benue); Yomere Oritsemlebi (Delta); Yahaya Ibrahim, a professor, (Kaduna); Nura Ali (Kano); Agu Uchenna (Enugu) among others.

The confirmation of the 19 RECs for INEC comes amid a chieftain of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Dino Melaye, saying his party had petitioned the Senate over the alleged partisanship of many of the nominees of President Buhari.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: